News

IFAC Handa Australian Singing Competition Open For Entries

Shout out to opera or classical singers under the age of 28 (as at 23 June 2022)*! Entries are now open for the 2022 IFAC Handa Australian Singing Competition and you are invited to compete for the prestigious Marianne Mathy Scholarship (‘The Mathy’) plus an array of cash and valuable career-building awards and opportunities. Entries close Monday 30 May with a late closing on Wednesday 1 June, Full details and information on this year’s competition on the website.

The heats, semi-finals and finals concerts will return to a live format this year,

Acclaimed counter-tenor Graham Pushee is the National Adjudicator for 2022. Now Managing Director of Arts Management, he runs one of the most innovative and respected companies specialising in arts and artist management in Australasia.

The Collaborative artists for 2022 are: ·
Bradley Gilchrist, pianist is the official acompanist for 2022. He is a freelance accompanist and vocal coach for auditions, recitals, recordings, broadcasts, examinations and concert performances. Bradley works extensively as a mentor for young vocal and instrumental Artists. He is Music Director of the Young Artist Programme at Pacific Opera and Music Director at Australia’s oldest Music Club, Music at Manly

Maestro Vladimir Fanshil is quickly establishing himself as a versatile artist covering symphonic, operatic and ballet genres. He will conduct the Opera Australia Orchestra at the Finals on 1 October.

The Opera Australia Orchestra returns in 2022  to play at the October finals concert.

Full details and information on this year’s competition on the website.

*In 2022 the age limit has been raised to 28 to accommodate those singers who were unable to enter in 2020/21. The age limit of 26 will reinstated in 2023.

 Key Dates ·ENTRIES Open Monday 11 April/ Close Monday 30 May/ Late Close Wednesday 1 June
HEATS: Sydney Monday 11 & Tuesday 12 July/ Melbourne Wednesday 13 July/ Perth Friday 15 July/ Brisbane Sunday 17 July
SEMI FINALS: Workshop Thursday 25 August (tbc)/ Private Adjudication Friday 26 August/ Public Concert Sunday 28 August
MASTERCLASS: MasterClass Monday 29 August (tbc)
FINALS: Public Concert Saturday 1 October





Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *